Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon Tenth Hour

“The truth is there aren’t any grown-ups.  Not one, in the whole wide world.”

I finished Ocean at the End of the Lane about two o’clock, but couldn’t stay awake longer.  Didn’t really nap very well either, kept waking up wondering what to read next.  I checked the mail and there was the first Aunt Dimity book, so I think I’ll give that a go.

But first, Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman was a lovely book.  Sweet, enchanting, a little scary and a little sad.  It is short, 176 pages, which is one reason I saved it for this Readathon.   It is the story of a lonely, bookish little boy who gets caught up in a magical world which sort of overlaps this one.  Like most magical worlds there are wonderful things about it and horrible things about it, there are challenges and wonders, he hardly leaves home and he journeys as far as it’s possible to go.   Although a child is at the center of it, it’s not a children’s story.  It would be too scary for little kids, I think.  I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy.   I am keen to read Neverwhere since I saw it as a play (which was excellent.)

So, almost the tenth hour I will try to get back into the reading mode.   I have some salted caramel mocha in me and I’ve finished one book, so it shouldn’t be too hard to do.

One thought on “Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon Tenth Hour”

Leave a Reply

