Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

Image

I should be sleeping because the readathon starts in less than seven hours, but I’m a night owl and usually stay up late.  Hard to break a habit like that.  I am unreasonably jazzed about this — after all, with a bit of planning one could read all day if one wanted to fairly often, but one never has, let alone at the same time as hundreds of others around the world.   I doubt I will make the full 24 hours as I could not get out of my Sunday commitment and I’ll need more than 3 hours of sleep to survive it, but I will do what I can.

So, what shall I read?  I’m not sure.  Being a creature of impulse I will probably decide when I start, but I’ve collected a heap of probabilities.  Then there’s the Kindle, capable of downloading a million books.  My TBR pile borders on the infinite.  Certainly more than I could ever read.   Reading blogs has both helped and hurt with this.  I have bought more based on others’ reviews, but I’m also, I hope, narrowing my focus a bit.   With so many books available, I feel a bit like I imagine Soviet defectors felt when faced with a U.S. grocery store.  Eighteen kinds of mayonnaise — how do you choose?   It’s the same with me and books.  Only worse because when I’m 50 pages in I get distracted by the next one.  

This readathon won’t help with that as I don’t want to read anything I’ve been reading, but only new stuff.   Some of the options:

Image

 

Now, I must try to get some sleep as it’s only a bit over 6 hours until lift-off.

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon”

  1. There is now only 5 hours until the official start time so I hope you are getting some sleep in. That is a tall stack in that photo. Some look short but I’m sure are filled with small font, so Good Luck & I hope you read at least one whole book.
    #TeamTiger #ROAR!

Leave a Reply

