Ulysses Day 5

I found this poor guy’s blog – wrote for 4 years on how he was going to read Ulysses and he did a lot, but apparently never made it through.  Or else got so swept up in it on his last post he never needed to blog again.

http://readingulyssesforthefirsttime.blogspot.com/

So, far, it has not been so bad.  I’m even actually enjoying some of it.   Chapter 3 is a bit tough.  But then you go on to Bloom eating breakfast and for some reason I cannot fathom, that’s entertaining.   The sheer enjoyment of it, perhaps.  I am a little worried it will bog down and I’ll become enmired in some future book, but shouldn’t worry until it happens, should I?   I’m only up to part 7.   I don’t think I can do 23 pages a day.   I also became worried that the cheap-ass e-version I bought didn’t have all the words and, aside from spot-checking, there’s really no way to tell.    It’s a long damn book whether it’s abridged or not.   I became worried about this because another cheap version is apparently missing stuff.   It would be very easy to do and not be able to tell in some parts.   I do have a Gabler print edition, but don’t want to lug it around if I can help it.

At any rate, sofarsogood and hope the other six people in the world doing this are enjoying it. Last night I got to a bit which cracked me up – Bloom and the others at Dignam’s funeral, in the cemetery, Bloom thinking about the resurrection of the body:

Get up! Last day! Then every fellow mousing around for his liver and his lights and the rest of his traps. Find damn all of himself that morning.

Leave a Reply

