Easy to Kill AKA Murder is Easy

I don’t know what I’ll do when I finish Dame Agatha.   I think I’m maybe halfway through her works and while I enjoy other books of the type, I haven’t found anyone who works for me as consistently as Christie.  I can’t figure it out either.  She’s not a great stylist.  Her characters except for her major detectives are more types than characters, but her plots  — her plots keep me guessing.  And so far, the conclusions have all been satisfactorily tight.  I’m reading them somewhat chronologically, and I gather she kind of lost it at the end, which is sad, but it does leave a lot of great work if you like mysteries mostly without violence.    

Easy to Kill starts with a little old lady in a train telling a young man of independent means just back from theEast about all the murders in her village.   Naturally, he doesn’t believe her, but next thing he knows she’s been run over followed by the death of the person she said would be the next victim.   Being young and at a loose end, he decides to investigate.   There’s a romance and Superintendent Battle arrives at the end, but really he’s just there to mop up.   I was pleased with myself for figuring it out, though only a few pages before the reveal, but still.

This counts for Cruisin’ Through the Cozies and Golden Age Mystery Bingo, though I’m not sure which square yet.   

3 thoughts on “Easy to Kill AKA Murder is Easy”

Leave a Reply

