The Underground Man

Not quite my usual thing.  Ross MacDonald’s Lew Archer is a bit more hardboiled gumshoe than I go for.   He’s a good writer.   The story has good pace, decent characters, sound enough plot.   I personally think that when Archer realized the boat was gone, he should have called the Coast Guard or the owner right then instead of letting them have all night to go wherever, but as far as detectives doing more than their job goes, that’s pretty minor.   And I struggle to wonder why I’m so not into this.  I was into it enough to read it in a few days.  I did want to know whodunnit, and I had kind of guessed right, but I think it’s just too much like real life.    I like my books to be somewhat escapist, I think.   Things I don’t really want to read about generally include bad trips, escaped prisoners, rape, bad parenting, fire and psychosis.  Even though none of this is graphic or even first hand, which helps a lot, I’m not sure I’ll read more of him.   I like the puzzle aspect, trying to figure out not only who did it, but what happened in the first place, but I think it’s just too 1970 for me.   Or something.   But I do recommend it if you like your crime novels non-cozy, but not too graphic.

I wanted to make it my book outside my usual thing for Bingo, but it’s not Golden Age.   It’s Silver if I read enough of those.   Almost forgot I can use it in the 14 challenge

13. Not My Cup of Tea: Reach out to a genre that you’ve never tried (or probably just disliked) before. Whether it’s a romance, horror or non fiction, maybe you will find a hidden gem!

Leave a Reply

