Moby-Dick Readalong

I have attempted Moby-Dick twice in the past, once in paperback and once in audiobook when I was sick.   Both times I enjoyed as far as I got, but that wasn’t very far.   Every chapter was read by a different person, some of them very famous:  Tilda Swinton, Stephen Fry, Bandersnatch Cummerbund.   I don’t generally do audio-books, but when I’m sick I usually can’t read and this helped a lot.  But then I got well and kind of let the whole thing drop, sad to say.

It’s here if you’re interested:   http://www.mobydickbigread.com/

I also have a print copy which oddly enough, I know where it is.   I may combine the two formats now as I am signing up for:

 

 

 

Image

Hosted as you can see by Roof Beam Reader.   I flunked out of his Ulysses readalong in January, but I still hope to finish that.   The trouble being all these challenges I signed up for really don’t leave time for previously started books.   Someone should make a challenge like that.   But maybe other people don’t drop as many books in the middle as I do.  But that’s beside the point.

I hereby sign up for the Moby-Dick readalong.   I really hate hyphens.   I think I won’t be hyphenating it.  Hope 45 days is enough time.      It seems like it should be doable, unlike Ulysses which I knew from the beginning was too short a time frame for me.

3 thoughts on “Moby-Dick Readalong”

  1. I’m glad you’re giving it another shot and joining us! Ulysses was a beast, and the time-frame was quick (especially since that one is so complicated). This one reads easier in most places, I think, although there are some super dull parts (on whaling history and whatnot). Still, the chapters are tiny, which is something that always keeps me motivated – if I can sit down and read five chapters, I feel good (even if those chapters are only 2 or 3 pages long). ….Don’t worry about the hyphens. 😉

    1. From what I did manage to read last time it’s definitely easier than Ulysses, although I enjoyed big chunks of Ulysses, which was a pleasant surprise, though maybe it shouldn’t have been as I liked Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man when I was in college.

      Thank you for hosting! I’m sure we can all help each other get over the super dull bits.

Leave a Reply

