The Goldfinch

goldfinchcover

Sorry for the long time between posts.   Blame it on King Arthur.   I’m quite sure it’s not MY fault.   Also my talking with my friend about the Goldfink over Thanksgiving sort of took the urge to blog out of finishing it.   What do I have to say about this?   Not much.   It’s excellent.   I’d recommend it to anyone who isn’t bothered by 1) long books, 2) lots of detail and 3) drug use.   Theo’s mother’s a wonderful character.   So is Boris.  And Hobie.  Some of Theo’s choices are hard to understand, but then I’ve never been in his situation.   It seems highly realistic.   There are people out there like all these people, with the possible exception of Theo, whose character seems at times more chosen to illustrate a point than embodying a real person, but maybe that’s just me.   As one of those points is we don’t choose who we are, and I tend to believe that’s mostly true, I can’t really argue against the philosophy of the book.

At any rate, I found it highly readable.  Never got bored in nearly 800 pages, which is saying something.  I think I will seek out her earlier works.   This fullfilled the

5. (Not So) Fresh From the Oven: Do you remember you bought/got a new released book last year but never had a chance to read it? Dig it from your pile and bring back the 2013.

from the Lucky 14 challenge.   It’s also a chunkster, if there ever was one.

Leave a Reply

