Readathon Updates

Hour 1 done.  3 pages read.  Go, me!   Must stop looking at Twitter.  196 new.   That should take up the next hour pretty well.

Hour 2 – 3:  Yellow Wallpaper finished.   Creepy.  Love the end.   I don’t usually read short stories.  I have a tendency toward long, Victorian and pseudo-Victorian novels.   Not the best for a readathon.  Got a mocha and a breakfast sandwich and started the intro to Cold Comfort Farm.    Not making much headway yet.

Hours 4 – 7:  I was able to give up on Twitter when it reached 1100 messages an hour.  I went to read in bed and the inevitable happened so these hours have been part napping/part reading.  Cold Comfort Farm is an ebook and has no pages, which is annoying, but I’m only 11% through it, which is, embarrassingly little progress.   I have a cup of tea and will try to get a bit further.  It is as enjoyable so far as the movie.  I have very little experience of the literature she’s satirizing, except I saw Precious Bane on TV years ago and hated it.

Hours 7 – 13:   Hmm, there was some reading on the couch followed by napping on the bed.   I guess I should’ve signed up for the Napathon.    I’d be at the head of the class in that.    Late posting:

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? Cold Comfort Farm

2. How many books have you read so far?   1 short story and half a book
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?  Just staying awake long enough to finish CCF
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?  If naps are interruptions, yes.   Otherwise, no.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?  How much trouble I’m having staying awake and it’s just the first half!

Hours 14 -15:  Time slips by so easily during a readathon.  That’s always the same.   But this time, it’s not even late and my bed is calling.    Maybe I’m fighting off a bug.   I don’t know.   I’m probably going to go read in bed and you know what will happen then.   I’ll try to report back at some point.   After all, it’s 9 more hours.   I will try to keep reading.

Hours 16 – 23:  I’m back.  I read until 1 AM, then woke again at 5:30.  Not falling back asleep immediately, I read until the cat woke.  So, I’m in at the finish, like that cheating marathoner 😀

Hour 24:  Well, it would be great to say I finished Cold Comfort Farm after all my naps and distractions, but I still have a few pages left.   Still, I always enjoy the readathon and all the people around the world reading, too.   Thanks to the hosts!   You did a fantastic job!

 End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?  17th?   1 AM Eastern time, whatever that is
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?  The short story the Yellow Wallpaper is good and creepy if want to switch things up a bit.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?  Nope
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everything.   Even though the event grows each time, it still works really well.
  5. How many books did you read? 1 short story and 1 novel (I’m rounding up)
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Yellow Wallpaper and Cold Comfort Farm
  7. Which book did you enjoy most?  That’s tough.   Yellow Wallpaper is a really good short story, but Cold Comfort Farm is also excellent.
  8. Which did you enjoy least?  Didn’t read enough for that!
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?   N/A
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?  I certainly hope to!  As a reader.   There are a lot of blogs I can’t comment on for mysterious reasons.   Sort of ruin the whole cheering thing.   Plus I read so slow and get so distracted it’s probably better if I try to focus.

Thanks again, everyone!   Hosts and participants, you all make a great event!

10 thoughts on “Readathon Updates”

  1. LOL I finished my first book (of which I only had part to go at the start of the readathon) and now I can’t decide which one to choose next so I’m hanging around on the web… Not good! Have fun reading!

  2. Yellow Wallpaper was so creepy! I saw it as a live play a couple years ago and it was intense! Also, so hard to step away from the social media, but that’s half the fun. Enjoy it!

  3. Any reading is GREAT in my opinion. I don’t read a lot of short stories either but I’m intrigued by Yellow Wallpaper. It sounds like you are doing great so far! Keep up the great work. Remember no pressure- just have fun and read 🙂

    #TeamSherlock

  4. I had forgotten about Yellow Wallpaper. Oops.

    I haven’t yet finished a single book, so you are progressing more than you think!

    Have fun readathoning! 🙂

    #TeamSherlock

    1. I’m glad there are a few others out there who aren’t finishing their entire TBR lists! You should definitely read Yellow Wallpaper sometime. It’s really good.

  5. It’s the twelfth hour! Are you still here? Or did you fall asleep? I may go to bed once I’ve finished my current read… (only 16 pages to go!) Keep at it!

Leave a Reply

