Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon October 2015

It’s time for the 24 20 1/2 Hour Readathon!  I set my alarm, and I might have zombily arisen, but reading?  I felt as though my eyes were made of grit.  I wish it had been last month, or maybe the month before.  Some point when I felt less busy.  I will do what I can, but 24 hours of reading isn’t going to happen.  Onward!

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Maryland, USA
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

Stack, ha!  I can’t get through a stack.  I’m doing the RIP Readalong book – The Quick.  If I finish that, we’ll see.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I bought some snap pea crunchy things I’ve never had before.  I ate half the cookies yesterday,

I bought some snap pea crunchy things I’ve never had before.  I ate half the cookies yesterday,
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I love readalongs and readathons and seeing the blogposts of readers all around the world.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

Unfortunately, what I’ll do is not participate as much.  Hopefully, next time won’t be so busy and I can read more

Oct 18

Well, it was a disaster of a readathon, but a good day, so I’m not going to worry about it.  Next time, I hope to be more into it.  I read 3 chapters of The Quick, which I foolishly had not looked up the length of – almost 600 pages!  I will continue reading it, but will not be done today, that’s for sure.  The beginning is much like the book I read last year, This House is Haunted, but better written.  I love the description of the club on the opening pages.

Which hour was most daunting for you?

Oh, most of them.   Couldn’t wake up.   Then had to go to a show and dinner.   Finally got in a little reading, but got too sleepy.
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

The Quick seems like a good read, but maybe too long.   Ocean at the End of the Lane was good.   Shirley Jackson is good.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?   Nope
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

Really was not around enough to know — I always enjoy it.
How many books did you read?

10% of a book.

What were the names of the books you read?

The Quick by Lauren Owen

Which book did you enjoy most?

The Quick
Which did you enjoy least?

The Quick
If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

I weren’t.  I can’t post on a lot of comment sections, so it doesn’t seem feasible.
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

Oh, highly likely.   If life would just calm down a little.

Sorry not to have been a better participant and not to have finished my readalong book.   Must return to the Monk, and catch up on that.

Leave a Reply

