Monkalong V – A Day Late, A Buck Short

I’ll write a nonspoilery review of this, too.   But thanks, Alice and my fellow readers!  I had a blast.  Matthew Lewis

matthewlewiswrong
No, not that one. I suspect it would be a very different book if written by him.

kept up the insanity to the very end.   The Monk is a moron and can’t even make a proper deal with the devil.  Matilda turns out to be not a fellow victim, but a fellow demon, which actually crossed my mind at one point, but doesn’t count cuz I didn’t write it down.   I felt sorry for him in the end.  I don’t think all he goes through at the end was worth a week of getting it off.   I grant he’s evil, but it’s all so stupid and pointless.   He kills out of cowardice, which doesn’t make it right, and certainly what he did to Antonia is unforgivable, but I’m not into vengeance and torture and so on, so reading the monk’s horrible end wasn’t much fun.   Perhaps if he’d reveled in his evil and really had a good time it would feel more justified, but he was miserable most of the time – before he commits his crimes, while he’s committing his crimes, after he commits the crimes.   Dumbass monk.   I wish the Evil Mother Superior knew before she died what a wretch she was trying to impress.

matthewlewisauthor

For all the idiocy, and there is plenty, a ridiculous plot, a useless hero, a pathetic villain, I still love this book.  It’s a roller coaster of happenings.   Lewis really packs it in.   Ghost nuns, blood stained sheets, escapes, castles in Spain and Germany, banditti, evil nuns, evil monks, young women in danger, beauteous orbs, sorcery, Lucifer, murder, rape, incest, kidnapping… you don’t really need any other Gothic novels.   This one has it all.

Spoilerrific cover
Spoilerrific cover

So, again, thanks Alice!  You pick great reads and have a great group to read with!   And thanks to everyone who blogged along!   As I’ve mentioned before, I can’t seem to comment on most blogs, my words just disappear into cyberspace, but I’ve read everyone’s posts and enjoyed them!    Looking forward to next time!

6 thoughts on “Monkalong V – A Day Late, A Buck Short”

  1. he was miserable most of the time – before he commits his crimes, while he’s committing his crimes, after he commits the crimes.

    Nooooo, that doesn’t mean he deserves mercy! He raped and killed a 15-year-old girl! After murdering her mother! And he never repented, just blamed his victims! He was all, “Oh, poor pitiful me! You made me do this!”

    I am glad Lucifer rubbed it in some more, by saying that if he had held out a little longer, he would have been a free man.

    (I think most murderers are miserable creatures. That doesn’t make their victims any less dead.)

    Sorry for all the !!!, I have a lot of feels about this.

    But I loved this book too. I think we are in the minority here, at least among our fellow Monkalongers.

  2. You’re right. He’s terrible. Weak, cowardly, doesn’t have the courage of his convictions, but that’s what triggers the bit of sympathy in me. He’s so bad at being a criminal. He enjoys it so little why the hell doesn’t he just stop? Okay, you had your way with Matilda for a week and got bored – learn from this! But no, he never does. And I never understand selling your soul. If Satan shows up to buy, that guarantees a spot in Hell and Hell really exists if he’s buying. There is nothing worse than that. Nothing.

    A few people seemed to allow some liking of the book. I like that Lewis let Agnes live happily ever after. That seems unusual in that day and age.

    1. I like that Lewis let Agnes live happily ever after. That seems unusual in that day and age.

      True, true. I just hope she doesn’t mind having to listen to interminably long stories for the rest of her life. 🙂

  3. I was thinking how I shouldn’t enjoy the terrible things that happen to Ambrosio but then I remembered that rape scene and I felt pretty fine with all the torture. He never really seemed sorry for what he did. He was sorry he felt bad, but he always blamed everyone else for his terrible things. I might have had some sympathy if he seemed the least bit contrite.

    Wow, that last cover IS super spoilerrifi

    1. It’s true Ambrosio was pretty much sorry he was caught, not genuinely sorry he did the things. Empathy – not his strong suit. He’s a weird character. Seemingly incapable of doing anything to promote his own genuine happiness – as a monk you might think he’d have heard a lecture or two on how fulfilling appetites is a temporary pleasure and not the road to genuine happiness, but then thinking things through seems to be pretty much impossible for him.

Leave a Reply

