Why Shoot a Butler?

You were expecting maybe Hamalomg Part 2?  And you have every right to expect it.  In fact, I’m fairly confident that post is in the near future, but not today.  Around the 11th I thought, omg!  it’s the 11th and I haven’t finished a single book!   Not a promising start.  So I turned to mystery, as usual, and dug out Georgette Heyer’s Why Shoot a Butler?  which is from, I believe, 1933.  At any rate, well before the 1959 cutoff for Golden Age set by Bev.  I never knew Heyer wrote mysteries.  I thought it was all Regency romances which I don’t read.  (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.)   But I guess they’ve been reprinted and I thought it sounded pretty good.  English country road, lost protagonist trying to find his aunt’s country house stumbles across a car by the side of the road, a mysterious girl with a gun and a dead butler.  Sounds fun, doesn’t it?

whyshoot
I think the real question is, why not?

And it is, though only a mystery at first, by the time you get maybe two thirds through there’s only one person it could be, so if you like them easy to guess, this is for you.  The detective is a barrister from London named Frank who keeps things annoyingly to himself, has the police at his beck and call, and has little time for pleasantries.  He has a rather endearing aunt, seemingly vague, actually sharp, one runs into in Christie sometimes, but not, I think, this early.  Not sure if I will read more.  I like figuring out whodunnit, but not because there’s only one choice.

This cover has car in it for Bev’s Cover Scavenger Hunt.  And now back to Hamilton.  I promise!

Leave a Reply

