Spring and Summer

I thought to myself the other day ‘It’s almost June.  Isn’t that Once Upon a Time time?’  It is.   Only two months late.   But as Carl makes this easy with a category you only need one book in I’m going to sign up this late.   It goes until June 21st, so if you’re interested in fairy tale, mythology, folklore, fantasy…  and can read a book by the 21st, sign up!   It has lovely art, too!

out10ishere.jpg

I am signing up for The Journey as I like to make things easy.  One book.   That’s it.  I can always do more if I have the time.

out10journey-600x256

 

 

I may not have time because I’ve decided I really need to refocus on reading.  I’ve read like 13 things this year, which is pathetic.  So, I’m stepping it up, but not too much with the 10 Books of Summer challenge.   Cathy of https://746books.com/ is doing 20 Books of Summer, but I’m a slow reader and have not been very focused this year, plus I have a terrible time sticking to a list.   I’ve tried to make the list fun enough that I h

10booksfinal

 

Dead Wake – Erik Larson: author of Devil in the White City

Kim – Rudyard Kipling:  having failed to read the Buddenbrooks for 1901, I thought I should try this instead

Our Mutual Friend – Charles Dickens

A Hoarse Half-Human Cheer – X.J. Kennedy

Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremont – Elizabeth Taylor

Murder Must Advertise – Dorothy L. Sayers

Magicians – Lev Grossman

Desert Queen – Janet Wallach: saw the movie and wanted to know more about Gertrude Bell

Virginia Woolf – Hermione Lee:  Woolfing Along July-Aug book

and a player to be named later.   I had worked out 10, but realized one was already started which I guess would be cheating.  I think it better be something light as I have two history, a biography and two classics which may or may not be too much for a 3 month period.   There are bloggers out there who read that monthly or so it seems, but I am not one of them.  Then again, there are people who read less than this all year.  But ‘comparisons are odorous’ and that way lies madness.   If I must pick a 10th, I’ll update soon!

 

3 thoughts on “Spring and Summer”

  1. I have the Lee bio about Woolf too but I’m putting off reading it just yet – I can’t do it justice right now, so my list has slimness as its main theme 🙂

Leave a Reply

