Fifty Candles

Taking a short break from the 19th century, I decided last week to read a short mystery.  I opted for Earl Derr Biggers’ Fifty Candles – a short precursor to his Charlie Chan mysteries.   More a novella than a novel, it features a young couple (at least, he wants them to be a couple) arriving in San Francisco.  The man has just been cheated out of a fair share in a mine by his boss.    Yet he goes to the man’s birthday party to see the woman he loves.   Then the boss is murdered and guess who’s suspect #1?

This was a very short, slight mystery with a nice little romance in it.   Not as good as the Charlie Chan I read.  You need more than three suspects for a good story, I think.  And all of the covers are so bad they;re not worth posting.

I’ll only count this for R.I.P. if I don’t finish enough.

 

Leave a Reply

