Master and Margarita Read After Pt. 2 & Dewey

Chapters 9-16 read and that was a lucky thing because early in the week I lost my Kindle!   I felt sure it was in the house, but time was going by and with the Readathon tomorrow, I thought I can’t be without it, or at least not without the books I’m trying to get through so I finally decided I would go to the store and buy a couple of books including M&M and give the Kindle time to resurface when I looked under the right chair and life was happy once more.  I simply couldn’t imagine reading off the computer for a large number of hours.   So here I am, only 11 days behind with the second reading and hoping to make a large dent in this book tomorrow.   Usually I like to ignore what I’m reading and start fresh, but I’m so far behind in my various reading commitments it will never do to fritter away major reading time on some new thing.

So, right.   Master and Margarita.   Well, we’ve met the Master.   Who wrote a book about Pontius Pilate and is in the same asylum as Ivan.   In fact, he’s the one who tells Ivan exactly who he met at Patriarch’s Ponds.   Woland and his crew put on a show about Black Magic which is supposed to include an exposé of it, but doesn’t, because Woland only knows the genuine article.   Everyone who crosses his path ends up either embarrassed on the street, driven mad, transported to Yalta or otherwise greatly inconvenienced, if not dead.   Satan in other stories can’t usually harm one it seems except if you make a deal with him and then it’s your own fault, but Woland thinks nothing of ripping your head off for his own amusement.   Which I suppose was pretty much what it was like living under Stalin.  But aside from that, I’m not sure what any of it means.   Pontius Pilate?  The changes to the Jesus story?   I got nothin’.   I guess I better read some other peoples’ opinions about it, but I hate doing that mid-book.  I’d rather interpret for myself, but if I’m at a loss, and I think I am, what choice is there?

It is certainly lively enough.  Plenty happens.  So I read the quote Alice put up on her blog and did not think it really explained anything.  Woland doesn’t remove the veil of order and allow them to act naturally, they are trying to behave in a rational manner and he won’t allow it, is how it seems to me.   Trading old clothes for new seems rational to me.   The contracts made with him are rational.  The attempts to tell the authorities what he’s doing are rational, he just stops them.   And when Nikanor Ivanovich or Ivan tries to tell people what actually happened they are treated as though they lost their minds though they are telling the perfect truth.  Rational behavior is impossible around the devil unless perhaps if you’re as quick-witted and lucky as Rimsky.

But I love the sign also found by Alice:

1280px-patriarch_ponds_sign

Don’t Talk to Strangers

Leave a Reply

