Deeds of the Disturber

Last week at work there was a disaster — the internet went out.  For hours.  I hadn’t brought my Kindle and neither my phone nor my ipad had a current book loaded and safety features prevented me from signing into the app on the phone.  So I went and looked at the book exchange we have and found Elizabeth Peters’ Deeds of the Disturber.  I had read Peters back in the 80s.  In fact, I may have gotten as far as Disturber in the Amelia Peabody series, but I don’t remember.   It was much as I remember them.  This one was set in England rather than Egypt, but still concerned a mysterious priest appearing by a mummy in the British Museum.  The entire Emerson family are Egyptian experts and almost insufferably arrogant, but they are fun books.  Not fairly clued.  Maybe that’s why they’re referred to as novels of suspense in their latest edition, not that there’s a whole lot of that, either.  They’re pretty cozy, somewhat amusing, a bit frustrating.  I still think half what the criminals did was unnecessary.  Don’t read it for a clever mystery.   Read it if you like Victorian Egyptology with a bit of adventure thrown in and a pedantic child.

peters-elizabeth-the-deeds-of-the-disturber-7510-p

Forgot to mention one of my favorite things.   Amelia applies to Scotland Yard for information and works with none other than The Moonstone’s Inspector Cuff!   I love stuff like that.

Leave a Reply

