Bout of Books and Challenges

 

So, poor reporting on my part about Bout of Books 18.   I enjoyed it.   Not really sure if I read more than usual or not.   Didn’t finish a book.   I was reading Magpie Murders and I also started Alan Bennett’s Writing Home, I think it’s called.   Early diaries, pieces and the Lady in the Van, collected.   More on those in the future.   At least the first one.   Hopefully both.

 

I wanted to sign up for some more challenges because I think they’re good for my reading life.   Last year fell a bit flat as one third of my not many books were Agatha Christies and of those I read, many were meh.   At least with classics, even when I don’t like them, I feel like I accomplished something.   I just don’t feel the same about having read The Devereaux Legacy.

 

Even though I missed it by a half a book last year, I am re-upping and vowing to do better this year.   Karen’s categories are fun and you can do as few as six or as many as 12.

3Button2017.jpg

 

The Wild Goose Challenge from The Bookshelf Gargoyle sounded fun:

wild-goose-chase-challenge-button

1. A book with a word of phrase relating to wildness in the title – any interpretation of the word “wild” is acceptable (eg: The Call of the Wild, Angry Aztecs, Crazy for You; An Untamed State)

2. A book with a species of bird (or the word “bird”) in the title: (eg: The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Thorn Birds, Turkey: A Modern History)

3. A book with an exotic or far-flung location in the title – fantasy and mythical locations are acceptable (eg: Paradise Lost, The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu, Atlantis Rising)

4.  A book with an object you might hunt for in the title (eg: Treasure Island, One for the Money, The History of Love, Dreams from my Father, A Monster Calls, All the Answers)

5. A book with a synonym for chase in the title (or its derivatives: chasing, chased, etc) (eg: We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, The Girl Who Chased the Moon, Follow the River, Man’s Search for Meaning, The Night Stalker)

6.  A book with a means of transport in the title (eg: If I Built a CarWalk Two Moons, The Girl on the Train)

7.  A book with an object you might take on a search or hunt in the title (eg: The Golden Compass, The Map to Everywhere, Water for Elephants, Team of Rivals )

 

Clarissa – as punishment for not reading a Greek play last year.   I was hoping just to read two Greek plays this year, but she isn’t hosting that challenge again.   My comment joining went off into cyberspace as they always do with blogspot.   But I will give this a shot.

I think I can do books from 5 different European countries.

 

All right, I think that’s it.   Probably enough to be going on with.   Happy New Year, all, and happy reading!

One more:

Sherlock Holmes stories throughout the year:

For some reason I can never comment on blogspot blogs with the kind of comment format she has, which seems to be most of them (maybe all?)  Very annoying, so unless she stumbles across this blog, she may never know that I’m joining in unless Cleo who pointed it out lets her know.   (Thanks, Cleo!)

https://noonlightreads.blogspot.com/2016/12/the-chronological-sherlock-holmes_29.html#comment-form

I’m two stories behind, but since I’m skipping Study in Scarlet, catching up shouldn’t be hard.   Provided I actually do it 🙂

***

And another one,   Keely of Achaemenids is hosting a Russian challenge this year instead of the Ancient Greek.   I like Russian lit so I’m going to join on the lowest level.  Tolstoy, 1-3 works.

 

This may be the last or maybe not.   Since I’m still finding them, who knows?

 

Leave a Reply

