Clarissa and Sherlock

 

I said I’d report monthly on my progress on Clarissa and the Holmes stories, but I don’t think I’ll do that, after all.   Who wants to read 12 reviews of Clarissa?   As surprisingly readable as I’ve found it, not a whole heckuva lot happens.   Clarissa is now keeping her correspondence with her best friend secret as is her correspondence with her non-lover Lovelace.  At least, she maintains she doesn’t love him, but simply writes to him in secret because her family has treated him so abominably.   I don’t think much of Clarissa.  Pretty sure that’s the feeblest excuse I’ve ever heard for going against your families wishes.   If you don’t like the guy, don’t write to him and don’t accept his letters.   It sends the wrong impression.   That is not to excuse what will be his presumed future horrible behavior, but she’s an idiot.   If even her own best friend thinks she’s in love with the guy, everyone else will think the same thing.  In other words, I find the set-up of this book pretty contrived.  And if you like a plot that moves along, don’t look here.


 

The Sherlock Holmes stories, which I’m reading in the order of the Challenge, but not at the pace of the Challenge.   I’ve finished week 12 – The Second Stain.  I’m enjoying them, but don’t really have much to say.  Holmes and Watson have been so much read, filmed, parodied, homaged, and generally absorbed into the culture that it’s difficult to think of anything worth saying.   They are very much like the Jeremy Brett shows from years ago.  In fact, I remembered a critical part of the solution of The Speckled Band from watching those years ago.  The only thing is Holmes and Watson should be younger than they’ve been portrayed, though they don’t read as young as they presumably are from the description early on.  They read like middle aged bachelors.  I was quite impressed with The Yellow Face.   Quite a modern attitude, Doyle displays.  Refreshing in a time where so many people are displaying the opposite.

 

shbutton_1b

Leave a Reply

