RIP XII is on!

Andi of Estella’s Revenge and Heather of My Capricious Life have taken on the mantle from Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings who has done sterling work making Readers Imbibing Peril one of the most fun events in the reading year.  Thanks to all three of you for founding and continuing this great tradition.  And you, reader, join us!  From September 1st until (when else?) Hallowe’en we are encouraged to read or watch anything remotely spooky, creepy, mysterious, dark, gothic, suspenseful, terrifying, horrific, thrilling or any other similar works to get us all in the Fall mood (even if it’s Spring where you are).  Read 1 book, read 4.   Read a dozen if you like.   Watch movies, read short stories, share your opinions.   It’s all about having a little spooky fun whether that’s a nice cozy mystery full of cats and cupcakes or the most nightmare-inducing horror you can find.   Whatever you enjoy.  Sign up and review what you read.  Share the scare!

rip800

There will also be a group read of David Mitchell’s Slade House, which I can’t figure out from the descriptions I’ve read if I want to read this or not.   I’ve got some time to decide.  In fact, too much time, as I want to start my RIP reading now and really, that would be cheating.  Although it is a big world and it’s already 1 September in a lot of places…

6 thoughts on “RIP XII is on!”

    1. My problem is the comparisons. There are comparisons to Stephen King, Shirley Jackson, J.K. Rowling, Dickens, Dracula, Poe… Now all of these are good except King whom I avoid like the plague. So, is it more like the others, or more like King? I guess there’s only one way to find out.

  1. People compare Mitchell to king? That is the weirdest comparison I have ever heard. Then again, people like to throw around comparisons like that. They have become pretty meaningless, those big-name compares, what with their ridiculous frequency. I’m new to your blog, so I don’t know anything about your taste yet, but I, while I have found all the Mitchell I’ve read (Bone Clocks and Slade House) well done, I’d idn’t particularly *like* any of it. Good writing, but nothing that made me do cartwheels you know?

    Anyway, really excited about all the horror I’ve got planned to read this month. Wooooooo RIP.

Leave a Reply

